The Galloping Gardener…

Another ‘right on’, ‘yea!’ or ‘amen!’ moment.  A few weeks ago, part way thru the current series, Graham Kerr (aka ‘the Galloping Gourmet’) came to talk with our pastor during the service.  They spent some time talking about everything from his and his wife’s story (and if you get a chance to meet her do she is a hoot!) to his time in television, through the ups and downs, and where they are now.  The full sermon/discussion is on the church site at www.wbfmc.org and in the Sermon Station player, it’s titled “Gospel in Life – Work”.  It’s incredible to listen to how God has worked through things in their lives…  It gives me hope.

One of the things that hit home for me was hearing someone point out how ridiculous it was that we live in a country where there are so many people with major health issues from overeating.  At the same time the people in the world dying from starvation is at such a rate, that you can’t snap your fingers fast enough to keep up.  Of course a global solution, while admirable, is not something one person can just ‘take care of’.  Local action, grass roots organization, coupled with a change in the food system though process, from the bottom up is something we as individuals can do.  On that vein, he is in charge of a community garden in Mt. Vernon, has changed his residential landscaping to grow much of his own food (veggies and such) and has had some truly incredible experiences in connecting with neighbors thru his garden (and it made me smile to hear a New Zealand Scotsman say ‘tomato”).  I think it really hit a nerve as we had just watched ‘King Corn’ earlier in the week.  The massive surplus of inedible corn that we are able to produce in this country is amazing.  All of it for a use as a food sweetener.

It really does seem like there is a slow turning of the ship.  Not from the folks in the wheelhouse (USDA, et al) but by the crew (taxpayers).  It’s slow, after all we have perfected a system to deliver incredibly cheep calories to the masses, but nutrition is very expensive (NPR story here, and the published article here) as well as the recent recall of ground turkey (how big a pile of meat is 36,000,000 pounds of turkey?).  I think it will just come to the people not buying cheep food.  I know easier said than done.  And that’s where the food bus comes in.  But I think I should save that for later….

Here’s Graham and Pat…

And enjoying a break between services…

If you get a chance, do check out his site.  I am hoping to see some photos of the garden at some point!!!

~///~

2 thoughts on “The Galloping Gardener…

  1. denisedown@yahoo.com

    Graham Kerr is a remarkable person, as is his wife. I’ve never met either of them, but I would dearly love to!
    I grew up watching “The Galloping Gourmet” way back when I was a kid, and my Mother gave me her cookbooks from the show, and they’re one of my most prized possessions! The books will eventually go to my 14 yr. old son who has wanted to be a chef since he was about 5. I know he’ll treasure them.
    Thanks for sharing your post about Mr. Kerr, and though I’m a first time visitor to your blog, I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts.
    Have a great day!

    Reply
    1. adalynfarm Post author

      Thanks for the kind words Denise, They really are a wonderful couple, although I don’t remember seeing them on TV I did see them on cable later!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

