Why?

I think we all know why we make the decisions we make. .  At some point anyhow, and then something happens, things changes, and sometimes we have to answer the question again.  Sometimes things happen, and change, and the reason is the same.  That’s when you can be sure that there was  a greater power at work.

15 years ago today I married my high school sweetheart.  We were kids.  Really.  At least it sure feels like it when I look back at the photos, and we talk about being the first of our friends in college to get married.  It helped that we had known each other since Kindergarten, but had attended different high schools (so glad she didn’t have to witness THAT train wreck).  We started dating our senior year, and if you figure your an adult at 18, we’ve been together her whole adult life, and about 90% of mine.

Why?  Well 17 years ago, it was because I loved her.  I loved who she was, where her heart was, the woman I knew her to be, the friend she was and how she lived that out in action.  She didn’t let me get away with anything, she held me to the standard that I strove for, she supported me (even if she though it was a really bad idea), and when I was right she cheered, and when I was wrong, she didn’t rub it in.  She also fought fair (when we fought, and it was usually about something stupid, like what kind of bird was in the bushes in the yard).  And she forgives.  Not that she doesn’t get hurt, and need some time to work that out, but ultimately, she forgives.  Not that I count on that fact either, but when I mess up, I know that if I do what I am supposed to do (humbly ask for forgiveness) she will extend grace to me.  And that’s a good thing, because as we have walked down this path together, we have learned that there is a lot that we don’t know, about life, the world around us, and each other.  But that’s what makes it fun.  And God could not have blessed me with a better traveling companion.

(Did I mention she has a great sense of humor?)

I love you my bride!  I’d do it all again, twice.

~///~

One thought on “Why?

  1. Elaine

    Beautifully said Adam!!! You are truly blessed and I am so thankful to God for Joscelyn as your life’s companion. May nothing come between you to dim your love and trust for one another. Happy Anniversary. Love, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

